Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Speaking a foreign language is not as easy as it is to speak ones’ mother language. But if the person can speak the foreign language fluently and correctly, it should not present any social problems. Again, there are people who are not totally comfortable in speaking a foreign language all the time may lead to certain problems.

To live in a foreign language speaking country one has to speak the language almost all the time. While this can pose some kind of mental stress, it is virtually impractical to think that it may cause serious social problems. Given the person in question can fully speak and understand the language, it should not be the language that can cause the problems. If anything, it could be the culture of that country that might be behind this. Of course, there are some expressions in every language that are clear to only to the natives, for which some practical problems could arise.

On the other hand, people who cannot fully speak and understand a foreign language, living in a country whose people speak that language, can pose serious issues in terms of living there. There may be serious social consequences for not understanding a language, along with practical difficulties. To live in a country with a foreign language it is essential to learn their language. For example, if someone is a student in a foreign country, it is crucial for him/her to know the language to smoothly continue his/her studies, otherwise he/she will have to be in so much trouble.

So to conclude, it is almost impossible to face any kind of social or practical problems by speaking a foreign language, unless people cannot properly understand and speak the language.