Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there has been ongoing argument that speaking foreign language in other country can contribute to not only some detrimental issues in society but also obstacle relating to practicing. From my perspective, I do not advocate for this idea except in some several cases.

There are a plethora of merits for language learners to speak a foreign language. Frist, since almost residents in a particular place using their mother tongue to communicating together, speaking with them could result in improvement of learning new language. In fact, by talking English in USA, some people, especially migrants, sharpen their English ability which is really useful for them to integrate easily into local society. Second, by communicating with the locals in local language, they have more chance to make friends and broaden their social horizons. This means that they can take part in more new activities and explore new interests, thus, their life in oversea country becomes more enjoyable.

Apart from the practical advantages I mentioned above, this idea still have some disadvantages relating to misunderstanding and their first language. Regarding to misunderstanding, speaking a foreign language is not simple, which means that it could lead to misunderstanding conversation. Someone, thus, who is not efficient in other languages, they could find it hard to integrate into local society. In addition, their first language skill will be spoiled thereby rarely using. For instance, if someone using second languages for a long lasting period, they will be unable to talk by their mother tongue fluently.

In conclusion, although this idea has some drawback, I still advocate for this opinion because of myriad merits it brings relating to improving foreign language skill and social aspects.