Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

It is argued by some that having to communicate in a non-native language at where you live can lead to not only social issues but also pratical issues. From my point of view, I strongly agree with this statement because of the troubles in expressing your thoughts and acquiring knowledge.

First of all, this is undeniable that finding hard to verbalize what is in your mind is one of the main reasons. This is because of the different between the way native speakers and language learners convey in particular contexts. For instance, Vietnamese teenager might not be able to use slang when chatting with other classmates in an informal conversation in English. This can lead to the widened gap between young generation and the lack of confidence in communication. This can also be seen that some older people can't order their drinks because the menu or label which weren't translated in their mother tongue.

Secondly, the other problems is the difficulty in obtaining information due to the low level fluency of the new language. This is exemplified by the affect directly on the effectiveness in understanding information when students attend a class which is taught in English. Another good example is when college students have to do a research involved Biology or Science subject, the shortage of understaing a wide range of academic vocabulary can obstruct them from finish their works as wanted.

In conclusion, I am convinced that social problem as well as practical problem are inevitable when attending an environment where speaking a foreign language is required.