Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people are immigrating to a new country in search of better opportunities. Some people say that moving to a country where you cannot speak the local tongue can have many social and practical issues. However, I believe that a person can overcome the issue over time.

Living in a new country exposes people to the language barrier which prevents you from communicating fluently with the locals. A minuscule task like getting the groceries and medical supplies become a hassle to deal with. Since communication is limited it becomes harder to find people to make friends and consequently migrants suffer from depression. However, countries have become more diverse and open-minded about accepting foreigners. In addition, the chances of finding another person with a common tongue are very high. Thus, a person can easily overcome the language barrier in a new place.

A social and practical problem that migrates have to deal with is learning about the culture and tradition. It is more often the case that a migrant would get arrested for not following local practices. Although local traditions may seem peculiar to some, these types of situation can easily be avoided if they study about these cultures beforehand. Conclusively, gaining knowledge and giving respect to different cultures will help avoid these issues.

Lastly, Immigration is challenging for a lot of people in many ways. Nevertheless, all the hardship will pass if people learn to adapt to the new environment.