Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

living in a foreign country is a life-changing experience for everyone. some believe that it helps people be more flexible in life, as you often face lots of obstacles. And there may be some merit in this view. Yet, in what follows it will be argued that when you live in a country that has a different language, you can experience various social and practical problems, as it is harder to socialize with the community and deal with basic life issues in a foreign language.

you will find it more difficult to socialize with locals when you are living in a foreign country, as you will have a language barrier and cultural differences. these can cause you difficulties when getting an education, finding a job, and making acquaintances. Therefore, you will not be equal to local people when it comes to being admitted to universities and getting into the job market. Thus, no matter whether you live in your country or in a foreign speaking country, it is a must to have a proper place in society for your happiness.

when living in another country, you will also face lots of small problems based on language misunderstandings in your daily routine such as shopping, public transportation, etc. For instance, when I was doing an exchange program in the USA, I always had difficulties understanding some basic tasks at school, and it took me more time to do those tasks, whereas in my native language it will take me no time to be done with them. Even though these things are tiny, you frequently encounter them and they make you feel uncomfortable.

In conclusion, it was shown that experiencing a life in a foreign speaking country might create some social and practical problems for you, since you will find it more difficult to find a place in society and to face small daily problems. In spite of all desirable aspects of living in another country, still, the hardship of overcoming challenges outweighs them.