Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is clear that living in a foreign country has its own benefits and drawbacks. However, in my viewpoint, I totally agree with the statement. In this essay, I would like to outline the social and practical problems.

To begin with, the language barrier is the most essential social problem which people face with while living in a foreign country. A person coming from another country might not have the capacity to communicate with the locals and could not understand the traffic sign on the road due to the language difference. Another social problem which is relevant to the language barrier is the misunderstanding from a foreign culture. To be more specific, some cultures prefer to convey the meaning in a straight way, however, some cultures love to imply their meaning in a more polite way. Take English and Dutch as an example, the English people usually wrap their true meaning in the middle of the message, however, the Dutch would love to say it directly in the front of the message in order to make the content clear enough for a listener to understand. In hence, while the Dutch talked to the English, they should be noticeable for their different culture or it might be easier to offend others.

As for the practical problem, finding a job would be a major issue. Due to the language and culture barrier, the owner would have a high preference to hire a foreigner. In the restaurant, customers would easily to have an argument with a foreign waiter because of the racial discrimination or the misunderstanding from both sides. Another practical problem is a person might feel much more lonely and helpless while dealing with the juridical incident. It is easier to be humiliated by people with bad intentions.

In conclusion, a person who stays in a country where he needs to speak the foreign language should be educated for accepting culture shock and obtaining an open mind to embrace a different culture.