Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

A person residing in a foreign country definitely experiences several adjustment problems ranging from culture to daily interaction. These hardships might be caused by language barrier. From my point of view, I agree that incorrect foreign language usage can lead to severe issues based on some considerations below.

It is obvious that many distinctive practical problems arise from language barrier. First of all, learning capacity of an individual could be limited due to lack of comprehension or breakdown in understanding. For instance, when a foreigner studies abroad without being fluent in native language of the host country , it may take him a long time to thoroughly understand the lessons and to keep up with others. Besides, daily activities such as grocery shopping or travelling become more difficult than usual because of language barrier. People may struggle to convey message or get correct directions, which makes it frustrated for both sides.

Seriously, having to speak a foreign language can provoke social problems. Ineffective communication can hinder a relationship sustainably. The speakers find it challenging to express their ideas and form bonds with others, which makes them fail to integrate with the rest of the group. If the problems worsen exponentially, it can lead to aggressive reactions. In some multiracial countries such as America, the violence happened between native and non-native speakers has rang alarm bells.

In conclusion, not fluent in a language when living abroad can cause social issue and pragmatic concern. Therefore, in the integration era, more solution should be applied to minimize the consequences of the language barrier