In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

These days, a great number of millennials prefer small families or one-person households rather than extended families for various reasons. In my point of view, this is a positive development.

First of all, moving out of large families to lead a solitary life helps to reduce conflict. Different generations have different values, thus it is considerably hard for the family members to build understanding among the generations. A typical example is a difference in lifestyles. While the young usually enjoy parties and stay up late, the elder prefer tranquil atmosphere and early bedtime, and as a result, conflict happens. Therefore, living in a one-person household enables people to live in freedom and comfort without facing others’ constant judgment or critism.

Secondly, small families with one or two children create favourable opportunities for people to interact with each other and offer better education. It is undeniable that when living in large family groups, parents’ attention is likely to be distracted from their children. Instead of spending time educating and communicating with their children, they have to share their time to take care of for other family members.

In conclusion, I believe that the above trend is generally positive because it offers more personal space to fit individual needs, so it is worthy to choose to live alone or in a small family rather than in an extended family group.