Living in large cities today poses many problems for people. What are these problems? Should governments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

Metropolitan cities are the main lucrative places for people to live in these days because cities provide a plethora of facilities like as shopping malls, big cinemas, education organisations and parks. However, overpopulation in urban areas can put atrocious effect on people's lifes.

To begin with, fast-paced and hectic ambience in metropolitan cities can lead to emergence of mental illnesses and depression. Commuting to offices and standing in line tend to leave people feeling antsy.For instance, according to statistics the risk of developing psychosis is 77% higher in urban than rural dwellers.Epidemiological studies have identified a large number of factors.Some of these highlight potential problems in the built environment, such as reduced access to green spaces and high levels of noise and air pollution. Since metropolitan cities are overcrowded and basic facilities are not available for everyone, it could lead to slums in cities,for instance, metropolises like Mumbai have a lot of slums because of low availability of houses.

In my opinion, the ministry should start investing in the smaller cities and start building the same facilities as well. It will put the superb effect on peoples' choice to live in smaller cities rather than big places, could fix the problem of overpopulation. It will put the impact of pollution and will improve the quality of air in big cities.

Living in big urban areas is not extraordinary because of many problems and the government should discourage people to live in metropolitan cities.