Long distance flight uses more fuel than cars and brings pollution to the environment. We should discourage non-essential flight rather than limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the environment pollution has been receiving a great deal of social attention. While slowing down non-essential flights seems to be reasonable, I would argue that the restriction of car usage might be more crucial.

On the one hand, there are disadvantages of reducing non-necessary flights whereas the definition of this has not been clear. Firstly, long distance flights make a favorable condition to travel around the world, and this creates culture exchange between nations. As a result, people might easily make friendships and deepen our knowledge including learning new languages, tasting the other countries’ traditional foods. Furthermore, the more business trips are becoming popular, the more significant the development of global trade increases, which gives developing nations a golden chance to attract more foreign investors to improve their economies.

On the other hand, using private car must be limited by the governments to protect our environment immediately. Firstly, due to the fact that a great amount of emissions is released into the atmosphere, the air quality is becoming less pure. As a result, individuals have to face many health problems such as asthma and lung cancer nowadays, which poses a huge threat to the community health. If the governments make a considerable reduction of exhaust fumes, air-related problems will be decreased. Furthermore, when such sulfur dioxide emitted into the air, making a contribution to cause acid rain, and this is the main culprit of soil pollution. Consequently, the contaminated water could dissolve some important nutrients in soil and change the structure of the soil. For example, some places in my country the agricultural farming activities might not bring the effectiveness because of the lack of the soil fertility.

In conclusion, although cutting down long distance flight could be seen as one of the pollution improvements, I believe that the decrease of private car usage from countries is more vital.