The maintaenance of public libraries is a waste of money because of computer technologies that have the same function. To what extent fo you agree or disagree?

Preserving libraries for public usage is considered to be a waste of money as computer programmes nowadays have the same abilities. From my perspective, I strongly oppose to this viewpoint although computer plays a crucial role in searching information.

To begin with, it is undeniable that most academic searching is now based on computer's searching tool. This is because computers are nowadays equipped with effective searching tools which require a small amount of time waiting for a thousand results. This is therefore useful for students and scholars, who have such a busy schedule and cannot attend to the library during operating hours. Moreover, the Internet provides a far more greater source of information in various fields compared to traditional libraries so it is necessary for students and scholars access to them.

On the other hand, I would like to argue that modern computers cannot replace a traditional libraries as libraries provides human beings a huge source of information. Although computers do serve a similar function, not many of information is reliable. For example, Wikipedia is a popular ecyclopedia which provides people knowledge about various fields such as history, science and music. However, the website is editable so that everyone can fix the information by themselves. Furthermore, public libraries occupy local history information, which has never been uploaded on the Internet. To illustrate, local libraries preserve the antiques from earlier people living in the neighbors and ensures authentic record of local history knowledge passed from the ancestors. As a result, going to the libraries is the only way to get access to the local history information.

In conclusion, despite the convenient of online sources of information, there are sufficient grounds to reject the view of not maintaining local libraries. It is recommended that people should read more to broaden their knowledges about various fields around them.