Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Doing unpaid work is considered to be a major topic of concern in today’s world. Some people believe that this should be compulsory in the school curriculum, while, individuals advocate that doing unpaid work such as working for a charity or improving the neighbourhood should be based on youngsters’ willingness. From my perspective, I partly disagree with the viewpoint.

To begin with, it is undeniable that doing volunteer work is strongly important in normal life as it does good for society and students by then realize the utmost value of doing charity. In other words, doing charity work could help them open their mind and understand the hardship of working. As a result, this could help children to understand moral and social values, as well as improve their abilities in the long run. For example, children working in a charity will understand the troubles that people suffered and sympathize with them and gain some new experiences of working in a strange field. Thus, those skills will help children to be more self-centred and mature.

However, there are several reasons why volunteer work should not be added to the schools' curriculum. Firstly, it is undeniable that students nowadays are busy with their school tasks and homework and they have little time for their hobbies. If volunteer work were added to the schools’ curriculum, students will have to pay extra time for it. As a result, they will likely get tired and lose their enthusiasm doing volunteering. Consequently, volunteer work is no longer beneficial to the students as they do volunteer by credit..

In conclusion, although some people believe that volunteer jobs should be added to the curriculum, individuals advocate that students should willing to do the jobs.