Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In contemporary society, technological computers invented by state-of-the-art devices are able to replace all public libraries’ functions. Therefore, many hold a belief that governments and authorities should not waste budgets for building public libraries. To the best of my knowledge, this point of view is grounded for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that modern technologies almost can instead of salient features of traditional libraries. Nowadays, many scientific studies have shown that although it is invisible, the development trend of electronic products has given users swiff and convenient access to various entertainment modes. As a result, people can save their spare time on going to the libraries. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that the increasing popularity of the Internet is accompanied by the loss of traditional culture of libraries. For example, according to the survey conducted by BBC News, in many metropolises, people prefer to stay at home and scroll the Internet rather than go to libraries because of the inconvenience of Covid-19.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by opponents to this is that libraries are one of contributive factors to create a traditional beauty, so local governments should preserve these libraries. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that there are many libraries built in high schools and universities, which necessarily plays an instrument in supplying knowledge for students and preserves cultural traditions. According to researches, maintaining public libraries wastes a lot of money, which can affect the tight budget of nations. Therefore, authorities should promote development of school libraries and advanced technologies replacing public libraries.

In conclusion, the growing pervasiveness of computer technology is replacing public libraries, which has chronic effects on users as mentioned above.