Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the unprecedented digital transformation, computers are becoming a common way for people to access information. Many believe that public libraries are therefore no longer necessary to maintain. I agree that some traditional functions of public libraries are being replaced by computer technology; however, in many modern cities, public libraries are transforming into an essential educational centre for local communities.

Since the beginning of computer technology expansion, online resources have provided people with enormous conveniences in terms of time efficiency and geographic flexibility when people need to look up information. Instead of physically borrowing from libraries, citizens can easily browse online and download the digital copy of books and articles, accessing the information at any time in their convenience. In addition, owing to computer science, digital materials can be accessible across various regions without the geographic restriction compared with the traditional libraries. For these reasons, fewer people go to libraries to borrow books or look up information due to the availability of online materials.

However, in recent years, an increasing number of modern public libraries are undergoing the revolution to become a major hub for people to access community resources and to collaborate with other citizens. For example, in Melbourne, local councils and governments offer job seeking and language training seminars through public libraries to help new arrivals of Australians to better settle down. Furthermore, some libraries enable residents to enlarge their socialisation through effective events such as photographing workshop or book sharing session, enhancing people’s sense of wellbeing. Therefore, more and more people actively attend these activities in public libraries.

In conclusion, this essay argued that although the traditional borrowing function of public libraries is gradually replaced by the internet, investing public libraries is still vital because of its revolutionarily educational function.