Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, many adults prefer to spend their spare time playing computer games. In my opinion, this phenomenon will have several bad impacts for them due to some reasons.

One of the reasons I argue this trend has a negative effect is that it can disturb mental health. This is because individuals who play games will not rest until a game is finished, so they will forget about other regular activities. For instance, if some people obtain leisure time for one or three days, they will play games for more than 24 hours and, of course, neglect their sleep time because the blue light which is emitted by screens is able to disrupt the production of a hormone which regulates sleep. As a result, poor sleep quality would omit their focus and most likely anxiety and depression.

As well as this, the activity can cause antisocial behavior. Although they have virtual friends from multiplayer games such as Valorant and Mobile Legend to replace real-world interactions, this makes them into introverted personalities in real life. In other words, they would rather play games than socialize with people around them such as family and friends so this reduces opportunities for spontaneous social interactions. The best example is individuals who are addicted to playing games will make them stay in their room.

To sum up, I still stand for my position that the trend that spending free time by playing games for adults is able to lead to mental health issues and promote social isolation.