Many believe that individuals can do little to improve the environment Only governments and large companies can make a real difference To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is often said that many large-scale problems relating to protecting our environment could be fiddled with by the sole action of individuals. Having said that, many other people believe in the contrary. I agree with the former standpoint and this essay will give discussion to both views.

Firstly, many solutions addressing today’s environmental problem require actions from each individual on a global scale. That is, small things such as putting litter at the right place and reusing them could together increase the quality of our environment if done in a proper way. Moreover, right actions could also save millions of dollars as litter are treated properly from its source, resulting to fresher and better environment without using much effort. In addition to that, raising awareness of each individuals could make a huge positive impact to the surrounding air we are living in. In so doing, I believe that actions being made from each individual are all we need albeit environmental problems are of global scale themselves.

On the other hand, there are some solutions that one single individual could not do and those which requires the role of the government. To give some examples, those solutions are afforestation, making campaigns that raise awareness, educating students about the impact of fresh air, enacting laws relating to punishing wrongs-doing and the like. Governmental role is indispensable in the effort to tackle environmentals issues, however, I believe that under no circumstances will those solutions be successful without the awareness and effort of each individual around the world.

To conclude, while some global scale problems relating to the environment requires strong actions from the government, individual action are significant for them to be effective. Not until every people contribute their own effort will environmental problems be solved.