In many cities, many people are living in large apartment blocks. Does this accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages ?

It is irrefutable that vertical developments are increasing in metro and big cities. There are multiple reasons behind this development such as land scarcity, higher population and so on in the city side. However, I think the advantages of this practice outstrip its disadvantages.

To start with positive side, the first benefit to the environment. Admittedly, high-rise building requires a less amount of land compare to other type of constructions. Due to this such type of building is not need large-scale of deforestation and this definitely help to keep green environment. Similarly, agriculture land also remains safe and helps to the society by providing food. Moreover, if more and more large apartments are near to each other than people are more likely to connect with their dear and near ones. This is also help to reduce the use of vehicles and therefore it is less air pollution.

Furthermore, large apartments also benefit at the individual level. It is true that nowadays the price of land is increasing day by day and people spend more on cosmetic things to live luxuries lives. Therefore, people prefer to live flats as their prices are economical. Moreover, there is low maintenance because it have not garden, parking area etc.

Nevertheless, large apartments have several drawbacks. Most of the people have fear of height. There is also situation when electric lifts are break down and in nature calamities situations like tsunamis, storms. It is quite difficult to save our lives. Addition to this, urban sprawl has become more problematic for traffic congestions, lesser basic facilities such as water and electricity.

In conclusion, although large buildings have several demerits, this development has certainly more advantages.