Many companies use popular sports events to promote their products. Some people think it promotes sports in a positive way while others think that it has a negative effect on sports.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Sports events have always attracted a lot of attention from enthusiastic viewers, which have opened certain opportunities for business people. Whereas one part of society is inclined to think that promotion of goods demonstrates sports in a good aspect, others believe in the negative consequences of this phenomenon. I do believe that the former mentioned opinion makes more sense due to the reasons marked hereinafter.

Famous advertisers possess fabulous budgets that allow them to turn common sports watching into a real holiday. All World Football championships are inextricably linked with the name of the company producing various drinks, and its emblems might be seen everywhere in stadiums. These illustrious sponsors pay for the singers’ performances, beautifully decorated seat zones, fireworks and other attributes of the celebration. For example, I was lucky to enjoy the Formula 1 final in Singapore from the Peroni brand zone and this is one of the most unforgettable days I have ever had. Thus, sponsorship is a great way to create an atmosphere of widespread fun and joy at sporting events.

Although some opponents believe that promotion through sports leaves a bad impression on it, I doubt this opinion. On the contrary, advertising budgets permit athletes to render charity work for the general benefit of society. Many sportsmen are willing to employ their names and popularity to help and inspire people around the world. As a result of this partnership with major brands and material cooperation enable them to turn this intention into reality. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo, one of the richest footballers in the world, is an ambassador for the Save the Children foundation and he regularly transfers large amounts to them. Hence, the contribution of advertising money to the possibilities of sports with charity should not be underestimated.

To conclude, I believe that the interaction of sports and product’s promotion carries a lot of positive aspects. Although some people think it has bad influence, I value the special atmosphere of the holiday and the opportunities for charity that are possible due to this phenomenon.