In many countries around the world life expectancy is increasing Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your opinion

Human life expectancy has globally grown in 21st century. While this trend is beneficial to some extent, in this essay, I would argue its drawbacks are more significant.

On the plus side, improvement in life expectancy has given elderly people the great advantages. To begin with, these old folk have a chance to stay with their families longer. To build upon my point a little more, senior citizens have worked for a long time; therefore, they deserve to rest and spend more time with their grandchildren after retiring. In addition, given that, these days, old people are typically healthier than the previous generation, they can take a fancy to being more active and pursue their own interests and dreams. To illustrate, x-generation can travel the whole world and take up activities they have always been interested in.

However, “Every coin has its two sides”, one problem, with longevity is ageing population and rising the number of old people, the vulnerable groups in society, who have normally required healthcare services. To put it differently, most of the elderlies suffering from chronic diseases, like diabetes and arthritis, should undergo special medical treatments and health services which are the financial burden for governments. In fact, governments have to significantly allocate budgets to build more hospitals and nursing homes, hiring more nurses, and providing more health insurance. Furthermore, due to disordering problems in the aged group, some of them cannot do their own work and may imagine yourself as a burden on others; therefore, it is highly likely that they get mental diseases, like depression.

To sum up, population in the world is increasingly living long into old age, this trend has both upsides and downsides and I think its drawbacks outweigh its benefits.