In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

The social and economic implications of the ageing population are becoming increasingly apparent in many industrialised nations. I think this phenomenon will do more harm than good and in this essay, I will weigh up both sides and try to draw some conclusions.

As people live longer and the populations of developed countries grow older, there are certain benefits that can be mentioned. The proportion of old workforces is greater, which means the education will be improved. The prior generation will be sophisticated and have more experiments so that they can guide and teach young people who do not have much experience.

Turning to the negative side of the ageing population, several problems will be anticipated. A rapidly ageing population means there will be fewer working-age people in the economy. This leads to a supply shortage of qualified workers, which can push up wages then cause wage inflation. In some instances, a decline in the number of young workforces will reduce productivity. Besides, because demand for healthcare rises with age, countries predominated by people of retirement age will cope with increasing healthcare costs. Moreover, it also puts pressure on young labour forces such as: paying more money in taxes and looking after their elderly relatives.

In summary, in spite of the positive impacts of higher human lifespans, there are existing potential issues. If developed countries cannot control these problems effectively, the economy will face adverse consequences. So that the governments and societies need to figure out the measures to overweigh the drawbacks.