In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, a phenomenon that people stemmed from the rural areas moving to metropolises has become a trend in various nations. The consequence of tendency is the decline of the rural population. From my perspective, this may be considered a downside due to insufficient labor in agricultural-related areas and a heavy pressure on the cities.

On the one hand, the movement of rural people to big cities in hope for bright future will lead to a shortage of workforce in the agricultural domain. This sector invariably requires a significant number of laborers in order to meet the production of a significant figure of consumers pertaining to food. Therefore, should this trend happen, the inadequacy of food products may exist, which causes some problematic issues to the society, including rising price for products and famine, more severely. The typical example is in Vietnam in 1945, when the economic crisis occurred due to the imbalance between the high demand of customers and the shortage of product, especially in the domain of agriculture.

On the other hand, the highly increasing migration to metropolitan areas of rural people will have a harmful impact on these places. Surplus labor can be the root of high unemployment rate in some big cities where the rural, with many disadvantages, would encounter numerous difficulties in landing a stable job. In addition, the excessive movement to the cities will put a notable amount of pressure on the economy, which forces cities to allocate the budget for them. For the rural who can not apply for a job to afford their expenses could become a burden of the cities. The case of this is the increasingly high criminal activities in some big cities in America, mostly of which stem from the rural people.

To conclude, I believe that this trend would leave numerous detrimental effects on both the countryside and urban centers.

The insufficiency of workers in these places relying on agriculture and the excessive number of labor in cities will cause a huge imbalance between the cities and the rural areas, which can badly affect the whole nation.