In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is no denying that today people who are living in rural areas move to urban regions and as a result the number of residents in the countryside declines. Due to these movements, both the cities and the villages are suffering a lot. Hence, I strongly believe that this matter is seriously a negative trend.

To begin with, the flow of people from regional to metropolitan areas has a negative impact on their quality of life. Firstly, overpopulation can lead to lack of facilities, accommodation, and unemployment. This means that with a limited amount of space to build houses and other infrastructures, a growing population is likely to lead to an increased cost of living. In many cities, it is almost not possible for people with average salary jobs to live there. Secondly, the mortality rate, especially in poor countries, is likely to increase due to overpopulation. With an increasing number of people, everyone has to fight harder to get enough food. Those who are not able to do that will be left behind, which results in an increased mortality rate. For example, India is one of the most populous countries in the world. The World Bank estimates that this country will need to invest $840 billion in urban infrastructure over the next 15 years to meet the needs of its growing population.

On the other hand, overpopulation has a vast adverse effect on the environmental system. Since people have to produce large amounts of food to provide for their survival, they have to use more land and resources to accomplish this. This comes with deforestation which leads to a decline in the variety of species. In addition, in order to produce more goods for daily lives, a bigger amount of fossil fuels is needed. Burning fossil fuels lead to the emission of harmful chemicals and acid rain. This contributes to the global warming issue. Furthermore, a combination of overcrowded living conditions and malnutrition in conjuntion with low hugienic standards can lead to severe epidemics or pandemics. This problem will be especially severe for poor people in developing counties since they lack the money to afford medical treatment.

In conclusion, since this migration process breaks the balancing factors between metropolitan areas and rural areas, and causes many serious problems, this must be considered as a bad development in certain countries.