In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The migration of rural individuals has become a growing concern in many disparate parts of the world. While some people claim that it is beneficial to move into cities, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits as this tendency has an adverse influence on urban growth.

There is a common belief that allocating in developing cities brings people a variety of potential occupations, leading to an increase in their earnings which can contribute to the prosperity of rural areas in turn. Furthermore, this trend also offers those who are disadvantaged the responsibility to get access to contemporary technology and therefore, ease the misunderstanding that job privileges are for citizens only. Others also claim that migrating to modern cities can engender cooperation between different minority groups as having a compatible chance for comprehensive development.

However, I contend that there are severe consequences when the population in the countryside decreases. Firstly, this tendency creates a lack of business operations and agricultural enhancement in rural areas and thus results in unbalanced growth between the provinces and cities as the principal labor forces, especially farmers, have dramatically declined in the countryside. As a result, the insufficiency of labor leads to wealth disparity since most high-salary jobs occur only in towns. Secondly, the most detrimental effect is ascribed to overpopulation in urban, which negatively affects not only the inhabitants’ living standards but also the environment. Taking my region as an obvious example, people living in its central city have suffered from noise, air, and water pollution and traffic congestion, resulting from the migration of rural people.

In conclusion, despite the belief that the Public can reap the benefits of more appealing professions in cities, I am of the opinion that this migration is undoubtedly a negative development that poses an alarming threat to society.