In many countries, average life expectancy has been increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and for society as a whole? Suggest some solutions.

Whether we like it or not, we have to admit that recent years have witnessed the increase in average life expectancy. To find remedies for this thorny issue, it is imperative to understand the adverse consequences of this phenomenon first.

In my opinion, there are two adverse outcomes resulting from this thorny issue. To the best of my knowledge, the most prominent problem brought by this phenomenon would be that the retirement age might be delayed, which can exert a profound impact on everyone. The old are generally more experienced, which means young employees might have less opportunities of promotion. For instance, someone may work as a deputy director for decades until the director retires. However, he himself is about to retire few years later. consequently, not only do the company have to change directors frequently, but the employees could not have better career prospects. Another severe consequence would be that the government may fail to break even on the social welfare. As a result, the government may have to tax more to pay such a large bill.

To resolve this worrying issue requires concerted efforts from relevant parties involved. On the part of individuals, it is of great importance to improve the working capacity and seize the opportunities to get a better position. Meanwhile, it is also significant for companies to establish a competitive mechanism that is friendlier to young employees. As far as the government is concerned, they can help solve this matter by offering sufficient social security so that the old can enjoy their retirement.

In summary, the phenomenon is a serious matter which requires the joint efforts of individuals, social organizations and the government in order to address it.