In many countries, children are becoming obese. Some people think that only the government should be held responsible.

Do you agree or disagree?

More and more children are becoming vulnerable to many health risks, such as obesity, because of unhealthy foods they consume. Although I agree that the government is responsible for this, parents should also be held accountable.

To begin with, there are two reasons why the government should take responsibility. Since childhood obesity is a major public health concern, it is the government's duty to deal with it. Only the government has enough power and financial resources to heighten people's awareness or limit the amount of unhealthy foods available to children. Second, overweight and obese children are likely to stay obese until adulthood, which causes further issues such as higher associated medical costs or declining work productivity. Such problems have long-term economic and societal consequences, and thus are national concerns that only the government can address.

On the other hand, I also think parents contribute to this problem, and therefore should share the responsibility with the government. Many of the health threats children are facing are the result of poor food choices. Because parents are the ones making these choices, and not the government, they should therefore be held responsible. Also, many parents allow their children to live a sedentary lifestyle, which is another cause of childhood obesity. For example, many Vietnamese parents are too busy to cook, and therefore let their children eat fast food on a regular basis. This leads to a lack of nutrition and leaves children susceptible to metabolic diseases like obesity.

In conclusion, while some people say that the government is responsible for the serious health threats many children are facing, I believe that both governments and parents should share the responsibility.