In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the problem of childhood obesity and unhealthiness has become more and more severe in some nations. There is a school of thought that the government should be accountable for tackling this issue and I agree with this assertion.

To commence with, as the government is responsible for maintaining and improving the economic growth of its country, it must ensure steps to manage and enhance the health of its youth. To be more specific, unhealthy children would mean an unhealthy future generation of a nation, which would result in a slowdown of the economy as a whole. For example, an adult suffering from diabetes at an early age would not be able to consistently work efficiently as he would constantly suffer from lethargy and mental weakness. In contrast, good health would facilitate well-rounded development in the knowledge of teenagers which creates a competent young workforce in the future. Indeed, if a child does not suffer from illness, he is likely to absorb knowledge effectively and gain better academic performance with a clear mind.

Moreover, it is national authorities who should be the pioneers in addressing the deteriorating young generation’s health issue because they could utilize their power to implement some solutions effectively. First and foremost, the national authorities should focus on educating children about the detrimental impacts of being obese. For instance, the federal budget should be located for some healthcare programs on social media where nutrition experts would give young audiences detailed explanations about obesity’s harmful effects as well as measures, to curb this illness. In addition, States have the power to prohibit or reduce the frequency of advertisements on foods and drinks that contain high levels of sugar and fat. In fact, since 2017, a ban on junk foods and soft drink promotions before 9 p.m. has come into effect in the UK to let children stay away from fast food.

In conclusion, preventing the young generation from being overweight and suffering from diseases should be the government’s onus with the context of this matter is more and more prevalent in modern society