In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The government has the responsibility to build a fitting environment for children to thrive through means such as levying on unhealthy food. I believe parents are accountable for their children’s well-being as they are the ones who choose to have children.

The government has to provide parents with suitable conditions to raise their offspring. As the power is in the hands of the government, they could legislate laws that will encourage toddlers and adolescents to become more fit, such as charging more taxes on sugary foods and reducing levies for vegetables. Doing so makes it easier for parents to feed their newborns healthier food for a more affordable price, leading to an increase in physically strong children. For instance, Japanese people have a longer life expectancy as they have access to cheap healthy food from a young age.

However, parents have to take responsibility for raising their children to be healthy individuals. Although there are some accidental conceiving, most children are born from the decisions of their parents. Therefore, it’s only logical to have the parents bear the financial burden that comes from subsidizing a child. Otherwise, some parents would neglect their infants and leave them to the government, putting pressure on the economy. In fact, many countries have stated that parents are accountable for their children to prevent this situation.

In conclusion, although the government has to enact laws that facilitate raising a child. I think It’s still on the parents to look after their children as it was their choice to have children.