in many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. However, some people believe that better education will be more effective solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely accepted that the majority of governments invest billions of dollars on incarceration rather than on raising citizen’s awareness. Although imprisonment is the proper threat of punishment which prevents potential acts of committing an offense, this essay assumes that education is far effective in reducing the crime rate than putting in jail.

On the one hand, punishment in prison is deemed to be a crucial measure to isolate criminal elements from the world as well as punish the act of breaking the law. By the judgment of the legal system, individual offenders will be sentenced to specific years in prison based on their severity. When criminals are subject to years in jail, they will be deprived of freedom which forces them to separate their loved ones and society. Only if the prisoner suffers the endless year in the loneliness and agony, can they reconsider the consequences of their flawed decision and repent of their sins. Nevertheless, this rehabilitation of criminal seems far-fetched when the environment being crawling with felonies only grant opportunities for building a vast criminal network. Due to the low efficiency of prison, imprisonment just procrastinates illegal activities to lengthen the stability of society.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why education is the most optimized method to reduce the crime rate in the world. It cannot be denied that prevention is a better treatment than a cure. The likelihood of breaking the law will be diminished provided that people vastly gain access to education, especially children who barely have knowledge about illegal acts. As far as the development of children is concerned, the future of the young generation who either has the potential to lead the country or become the burden of society depends on the education system. For example, a great number of young children in their adolescence are vulnerable to expose to bad behaviors due to the lack of general knowledge about law and therefore become the object to be manipulated by a dangerous criminal. Owing to the pivotal importance of education, the government should facilitate the education system to tackle the underlying problem.

To summarize, while I have a strong opposition to the opinion that prison is a commonplace to tackle the problem of crimes, I agree with the fact that educating people may be more appropriate in dealing with an illegal offense without resort to send offenders to prison.