In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported foood? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

It is true that the consumption of imported foood has increased in recent years. The reasons for this trend are varied and there are some effective measures to encourage people to purchase food produced locally

There are two main reasons why more and more people are purchasing imported foodstuffs. First, the taxes on food items from abroad has reduce significantly thanks to the advent of Free Trade Agreements (FTA), which allows foreign manufactured food companies to have countless opportunities to appoach local customers. This means that people will have more options to choose, enabling them to enjoy a wide range of foodstuffs from different parts of the globe with cheaper prices. Second growing prosperity and a rise in the living standards in many countries has stimulated people’s demand for pricey foreign food products that local companies are unable to produce in order to vary their diet or experiment with new recipes. For example, with greater disposable income, most Vietnamese people now are able to enjoy Kiwis- a type of fruit commomly grown in Western countries.

There are two initiatives that should be taken to encourage the consumption of local food. The governments should launch national campaigns which call out their citizens to prioritise purchasing food produce locally. This might gradually eliminate the need to import foodstuffs from other countries, positively affecting the national economic expansion. Additonally, local manufacturers should invest more money in advanced technologies in the manufacturing process in order to ensure that their products always look fresh and clean. By doing this, consumers would be motivated to choose their products as reliable alternative for foreign food products in terms of quality and delicious taste.

In conclusion, there are several reasons for the increasing prevalence of improted food products and some approaches should be taken immediately to motivate consumers to buy local food products.