In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In many parts of the world, it is uncommon to see people enjoying imported food over local ones. While a variety of reasons contribute to this tendency, competent authorities should implement supportive schemes to encourage citizens to eat local food.

Unsurprisingly, people become more obsessed with foreign food these days for a host of reasons, one of which would be that the packaging of international food often is more presentable; hence, it could exhibit appealing and appetizing appearance which might easily lure customers in. Another factor attributed to this trend is the dominance of advertising. Specifically, marketing strategies of food distributors actively cultivate among consumers to take on board the idea that when it comes to quality, imported food are far superior food produced locally. As a result, consumers get planted into their brains the belief that they could get their hand on the best products by purchasing imported products.

Turning to possible solutions, some encouragements must be devised to stimulate the consumption of local products. Firstly, local food manufacturers should assure consumers both the quality and the taste of their products by endeavoring to make it more wholesome. At the same time, should the administrations join hand in the progress by not only imposing scrupulous regulations in terms of securing hygiene but also levying high taxes on overseas comestibles, people will have more incentives to elevate their spending on regionally produced food. Another attempt would be to diversify regional food, eliminating the need to import domestic food. This, hence, would motivate local consumption, which in turn helps to boost the national economy and ensure the sustainability of the local market.

In conclusion, there has been a growing preference for imported food, mainly due to the influence of advertising; therefore, the government is advised to introduce several initiatives to promote consumers’ demand for local food.