In many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society.

Although most prosperous nations around the world have experienced the fast-paced development of technology, the rest faces the challenge that only a minority of students study science subjects in university. This circumstance brings about numerous profound impacts on humans and factors contributes to this trend should be taken into account which I demonstrate in this essay.

The predominant factors results in the situation that students bypass science subjects to opt for other fields are threefold. firstly, the driving force behind this trend is gender discrimination since only boys are allowed to study, especially science while girls are compelled to stay at home and treated as a breadwinners and housewives. Secondly, students are in favour of other subsets since they can expand their career prospects and gave them a chance to climb up the career ladder faster in order to have a decent living condition. For instance, instead of science, students have a tendency to choose business which is popular in most countries with high salaried and straight forward to seek for a job or set up their own business. The last primary contributor is that only competent as well as intelligence students can absorb knowledge, acquire advanced techniques and give outstanding performance in science so that just a few can meet this entrance requirement.

There are no doubt that there are countless detrimental effects stem from those causes I expressed above. In terms of environment, there will be lack of scientists to struggle with the challenge of climate change, one of the issues should take the priority other aspects of life. moreover, this situation also pose a threat to human’s health since there is not enough scientists to seek for cures for acute diseases, by no means people can face strange sickness arising in recent days. For instance, Alzheimer is a common disease make elderly reduce metal agility and memory and it becomes the norm among aging population and without research carried out by scentits, by no means this ailment can disappear. Needless to say, without scientists and science subjects, it seems that developing countries should suffer out-of-date techniques and take a long time to catch up with the world.

In conclusion, there are several causes aiding this unwanted outcomes so that the burden of responsibility lies in hands of government and individual to solve this problem or at lease reduce the effects.