In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is no denial that the emergence of one person household becoming the norm,gradually substitutes family sized accommodation, particularly in prosperous nations. In this circumstance, it is my firm conviction that this trend seems to bring about both advantages and drawbacks to individuals and national economic.

On the one hand, there are numerous reasons why residents are now in favour of living alone, which produces positive results not only for citizen but also for community. In terms of individual level, one of the most primary contributors is that this is a great chance for people to improve their prospects and reach their potential while living far away from family members. It is no wonder that teenagers at the age above eighteen who grasp a oppotunity to live alone are more independent and have an ability to manage every single aspects of life on their own from personal timetable to economy. Moreover, another crucial factor is that there will be no invasion in privacy or curtailment in freedom which help people to enjoy blissful moments. Regarding to society, in order to meet the demand of accommodation, there will be room for construction industry to experience a ground shaking development as well as other related services.

Despite a plentiful of advantages I expressed above, there are several demerits halting people from living alone. It is sensible that without any relatives and family members, people would have a feeling of being alone and isolated from surrounded community. Moreover, when facing a problem,it is a daunted task to tackle with no help from senior generation, for instance, taking care of children, repairing items and so on especially in sedentary lifestyle as modern days. Considering another aspect of community, the uncontrolled increase in household demand will lead to severe burdens such as exorbitant rent and lacking of accommodation.

In conclusion, living alone will have both beneficial and drawback to society and citizen, so that to make a prudent choice, people should consider carefully.