In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects.

What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

There is no denying that in many parts of the world, students have tendency to apply other subjects like mathematics, music or languages instead of choosing science as their major. This phenomenon results from many factors, causing an adverse bearing on both individuals and society.

A compelling reason why students tend not to go with science is that these subjects are too complex to be able to comprehend. There is not only a great deal of academic knowledge but also lots of assignments, examinations and practical experiments that require learners to make an enormous effort to deal with. Also, for the sake of these curriculums, students are always under intense pressure and sometimes feel overwhelming. Moreover, in comparison with other fields, undergraduates have to take longer time to accomplish their scientific lessons. For instance, scientific students normally takes from five to seven years to complete their courses while students in other disciplines only take about 4 years to get a diploma. At the extreme, graduates, who spent a lot of time catching up in scientific researches though, still have to face the risk of unemployment after achieving science diplomas.

A discernible effect is that the insufficience of scientific experts, who play an important role in carrying out research or inventing new applications for any aspects of human life, may decelerate the development of society. For example, the covid-19 epidemic will never rage out without scientific research into the vaccine. Imbalance in employment needs is another irrefutable impact. The number of job vacancies in other areas will become limited and more competitive since there are so many applicants while employees in scientific fields are increasingly scarce.

In conclusion, there are several factors result in the lack of science learners, and this trend can bring about severely negative influences.