In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food that can be grown in their local area. As a result, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that in the today’s world, there has been an accelerating trend of using imported food instead of local food. While this trend is beneficial to some extent, I am firmly of the opinion that its shortcomings are weightier for the followers of this trend.

Due to distinctive climate condition of each country, some certain kinds of fruit can not be grown. For example, in tropical countries, it would be hardly to observe farmers growing apples, cherries and blueberries. As a result, these kinds of fruit should be imported from other countries. Moreover, the eating habit of different nations results in a variety of food from worldwide. Exporting food would provide more access for people of different countries enjoying various kinds of food, hence broaden their knowledge on global culinary art. What’s more, in several countries, when national food is considered as too familiar to local people, exotic food is used as unique presents in some special occasions.

However, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of using foreign food are outweighing the disadvantages. When people are inclined to be intrigued by exotic food, the quantity of imported food sold out would be larger than the amount of local food. Consequently, this will degrade the development of agriculture of the country, putting farmers in great hardship. Worse still, since imported food might be much pricier than local food in some countries, the routine of buying imported food might lead to a lavish lifestyle. More importantly, in order to keep the food fresh for a long time travelling from border to border, a huge amount of preservation chemicals would be applied into the food, which is seriously detrimental to consumers’ health.

In conclusion, although imported food helps people to be easily accessible to diverse kinds of food from all over the world, it would have negative impact on the economy development of the country and citizens’ well-being.