In many countries people now wear Western clothes suits jeans rather than traditional clothing Why this happens Is this a positive or negative development
In recent decades, Western clothes have gained in popularity in many
countries, especially developing ones. Although the trend appears to
challenge the preservation of traditional fashion of those countries, it brings
more positive changes overall.
There are a number of reasons leading to that trend. First, thanks to
globalization, citizens of faraway countries are now able to purchase
Western clothes without leaving the country. In fact, they can even get better
deals purchasing those imported clothes because of increased competition
in the apparel industry. Second, the increase in freedom of choice in less
based more on personal preferences. For example, a citizen nowadays can
wear what he or she wants without having to take into account social
approval on clothing, thereby increasing the demand for Western apparels.
Even though the trend has received some criticisms over the years, it has
positively affected those countries at the other end. First, Western clothing
brings more variety to the existing market, giving customers more options to
weigh their decisions. It is clear that not all people wish to limit themselves
to traditional costumes on all occasions. In addition, by injecting Western
fashion into the market, traditional clothing can, in fact, stand out on special
occasions such as New Year or Independent Day. If traditional clothes were
worn on a daily basis, their value will be diluted, making Western fashion
appear more special in the eyes of not only the citizens but also tourists.
In conclusion, the development should be embraced because of its
overwhelming advantages. It not only benefits the citizens in different ways
but helps preserve the traditional fashion as well.