In many countries people now wear western style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing Why is this Is this a positive or negative development

In the modernizing society, western clothing such as suits or jeans tend to be worn by people in various nations rather than local costumes. I think this change brings all positive and negative aspects.

On the one hand, there are many positive aspects that western clothing brings to our society. Firstly, because of its convenience and flexibility, people wearing these clothes will be highly active in some activities such as study or picnic compared to traditional clothes that are too complicated to wear. Moreover, taking up new trends is a better option of formal attire for business events and it also expresses people's respect and shows their confidence as well. This can help us more easily to get involved in important international affairs such as economic or political events, where formality is required.

On the other hand, in spite of the above mentioned benefits, the prevalence of foreign clothing over the local costume also generates many downsides. Initially, this trend will lead to the loss of culture and tradition. It is undoubted that traditional costumes represent a long history and cultural identity of a nation. However, many people tend to turn away from their traditional attire and they believe that it is sometimes old fashioned. Furthermore, it prevents them from chances to be in touch with their ancestral cultures and traditions, leading to the lack of knowledge of their own history and cultures.

To conclude, the prevalence of western-style dress is the result of the development of globalization progress and this trend has both advantages and disadvantages.