In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing.

Why is this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, in many countries, western-style clothes, for instance jeans, are becoming increasingly popular among people, while traditional clothing is unlikely to be seen. In this essay, I will explain the causes of this this trend in detail and consider its impacts.

As regards the reasons for the development, there are two main ones. To begin with, as Europe countries are usually developed, their cultures would dominate the other regions in the world. As a result, some social standards which originate from the west, including fashion styles, gradually become universal. Thus, suits are widely considered the most formal type of dress, leading to its popularity, especially in workplaces or important events. Furthermore, compared to traditional clothes, western clothes tend to be more convenient and comfortable. For example, sweaters could be worn and washed with ease, and are suitable for a wide range of activities; in contrast, kimono, which is the traditional dress of Japan, requires a great deal of effort to be kept intact, while it could restrict people’s daily activities.

While the discussed reasons may result in an impression that the development is beneficial, there are also the potential negative impacts. Among which, the most significant and concerning one is the disappearance of traditional values. Since clothes might bear with them the cultural and historical meanings, abandoning them would cause a huge loss in terms of national cultural features. Many governments have been aware of the consequences, and come up with measures that attempt to make conventional clothing more common and appealing to people.

All in all, western dresses have been favoured by people all around the world thanks to their convenience, as well as the domination of European cultures. Nevertheless, allthough they offer people wearing them remarkable advantages, they could detrimentally affect the whole local society.