In many countries, the proportion of older people is increasing. Is this trend positive or negative to the society?

There is a tendency in many countries that the portion of older people is gradually going upward as the development of economy. Whereas, this phenomenon could be a social problem although the older citizens would undoubtedly make contributions to the society as a whole.

To begin with, higher level of older people rate would undeniably impair the workforce quality in a society. There is no doubt that certain phsycally intense occupation is no fit for elder people. And for most aged workers, they are probably not more creative and knowledgeable, though more experienced, than young workers, who could have accepted higher education and be more professional. Thus this trend could exert negative affect on the economic growth.

What's more, he/she could unavoidably get stuck into more or less ailments when an individual gets older since one will be more physically vulnerable as age grows. Older people's increasing visits to hospitals and clinics require more government investments toward public health to meet the growing need in terms of medical service, which could definitely heaven the financial burden of government so that they have to curtail expenditure of other aspects.

Last but not least, it is a must to pay the annual pension for retired workers. And this expenditure heavily depends on the total number of retired workers who are mostly older people. This could cause essential social problem if the gap of pension emerges. And it is also a burden to government.

To sum up, the upwarding proportion of older citizens would have negative effects on society.