In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

Nowdays, because of accumulating wealth and technological development, the life expectancy became longer than before. However, the demographic change may cause some problems, even the senior citizens have contributed significantly to society.

The first problem about population ageing is that medical costs are rising, and it will impose a burden to taxpayer. As we all know, most of medical expenses will occur in the last years of life. Therefore, the government need to pay more money to look after the elder people, which may lead to the limitation of funds to some essential services, such as education and infrastructure. As the increasing number of senior workers, the slow pace of work will produce another problem which people’s capacity of absorbing information and completing work will decline with age. If elder people’s retirement is delayed, it will pose a negative impact on efficiency and profitability.

In another aspect, a number of people choose to extend their working life, and their experience and wisdom are valuable assets to company. They can always live healthier and longer life, due to they pay close attention to healthy diet and regular exercise. Meanwhile, they can impart knowledge to the younger generation as an advisor. For example, some senior managers can teach young people how to run a business and provide high quality services to customers.

To summarize, the extension of life expectancy have put pressure on medical treatment industry of many countries and reduce productivity at the same time. Even we can make good use of elder people’s wisdom, that is a bad trend to economic growth.