Some people think that children can learn efficiently by watching television. Therefore, children should be encourage to watch TV both at school and home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Watching television is considered as an effect way to acquire knowledge, because audio-visual information can attract students’ attention and engage their interest. Even , TV programmes have educational value,I argue that students should increase their screen time.

Television viewing will interfere with children’s studies and attending helpful outdoor activities. Children can get distracted easily by watching television, especially the situation without adult’s supervision. Students who watch television frequently may can’t able to concentrate on learning tasks and get a good academic performance. Meanwhile, these students are hard to join interactive activities which can improve brain development, such as reading, singing and communication.

Besides, long screen time have an adverse impact on social development. They might sit in front of TV for few hours and show unwillingness to talk with teachers and play games with peers. Then, they will become unsocial and be reluctant to express their opinions or understand others thoughts. Without good communication skills, they will have trouble in gaining knowledge, drawing upon the ideas of others and achieving succeed academically.

On the other hand, I accept that television can expose children to a world of knowledge. As a number of TV programmes are designed for students, these can help them gain an insight into other subjects. For example, historical documentary can be useful in understanding historical events, and foreign language channel can teach them to learn foreign languages. These knowledges can be a complement at school.

To sum up, the guardian of students shall impose restrictions on screen time instead of endorsing this habit. Long screen time will have a negative impact on their grades, rather than improve their academic performance.