In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether governments should introduce a

maximum wage. While in some ways it may seem reasonable to allow people

to earn as much as companies are willing to pay, I personally believe that

employee remuneration should be capped at a certain level.

There are various reasons why it might be considered beneficial to allow

people to be paid extremely high salaries. If companies offer excellent pay

packages, they can attract the most talented people in their fields to work for

them. For example, technology companies like Google are able to employ the

best programmers because of the huge sums that they are willing to pay.

Furthermore, these well-paid employees are likely to be highly motivated to

work hard and therefore drive their businesses successfully. In theory, this

should result in a thriving economy and increased tax revenues, which means

that paying high salaries benefits everyone.

However, I agree with those who argue that there should be a maximum wage.

By introducing a limit on earnings, the pay-gap between bosses and employees

can be reduced. Currently, the difference between normal and top salaries is

huge, and this can demotivate workers who feel that the situation is unfair.

With lower executive salaries, it might become feasible to introduce higher

minimum wages, and everybody would be better off. One possible

consequence of greater equality could be that poverty and crime rates fall

because the general population will experience an improved standard of living.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be better, on balance, for

governments to set a limit on the wages of the highest earners in society.