In many countries students take a year gap after finishing school and work or travel during this period Should students take a gap year before attending universities What are the advantages and disadvantages of it Give your own opinion

Students these days tend to take a year gap after high school to finding job or traveling to experience more. In my opinion, it is worth experiencing this one year gap because we may receive more gains than the drawbacks.

There are several advantages students can gain during the gap year such as relaxation, self understandings and experiences. First of all, they have time to relax after the stressful entrance exam. Further, to take rest after many years spending time studying very hard at school which is self-reward. Secondly, students have chance to gain experiences from traveling and work. Attending in job earlier get students earn money, equip necessary soft skills and even achieve knowledges from traveling. Lastly, the gap year can support students to spend time to find out what they really want to do. Because they have time experiencing many subjects and careers, so they easily understand that what they really like and what they want to build up.

Besides, there are still disadvantages taking gap year as wasting time and disorientation. Firstly, after the gap year, students have to take one more stressful entrance exam if they want to get back to university. They need to spend a decent amount of time review the lesson to do the exam, and it is truly wasting time. Moreover, they can easily be disoriented because they may don’t know what to do after high school. If they go to college or university, they know what they have to do and what they want to gain. If students unluckily cannot find out what they really want after experiences, they will get more disoriented.

In conclusion, taking a year gap has both advantages and disadvantages. In my point of view, at the young age, students should take risks taking a gap year even it may be risk.