Many countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dewellers ?

Moving from the countries to urban regions has been a popular phenomenon in numerous nations of the world for several years. There are some reasons and impacts on the current local residents which will be discussed in this essay.

First of all, the main reason for the migration of population from remote areas to metropolitan cities is the difficult to find employment. Most of the work in villages is related to agriculture such as food production or animals breeding which have less workforce is needed.

In addition, many people espcially youngers people want to challenge themselves with more advanced and diversified careers. Urban areas where have may high-tech companies are located why is reason they tend to leave their homeland to pursue their dream professions.

Finally, the urban has a higher standard of living than the countryside. For example, there are a number of utilities, including public transportations, entertainments and so on. It's very appropriate for the young generation wants to make a big change to their life. They want to have a better future prospect for the next generation. Metropolis offer a lot of opportunities and have better infrastructure, health care service and education facilities.

There are two consequences from this phenomenon. Firstly, more people coming to the cities will place more pressure on the current infrastructure. Overcrowding and traffic congestion occur from day to day. This can easily be seen in many cities like Bangkok, HoChiMinh and Tokyo. Secondly, more people will result in more competition for the same job. On top of that, the flux of migrants will also cause housing prices to accelerate. That is an inevitable consequence when the demand is becoming greater than the demand.

All of all, migration is an inevitable tendency that required the close collaboration of government, companies and individuals. Living conditions for rural areas should be paid more attention and improved.