Many countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers

There is a steady growth in population in urban areas around the world as people from rural ones have an increasing tendency to move to major cities. This essay will present numerous factors that trigger this trend as well as how it will affect the locals.

The movement from poorer sides of a country to a more developed parts stems from these incentives. Firstly, major cities offer higher employment opportunities than rural areas because their economy is significantly stronger, enabling them to have a higher demand for employees. As a result, people tend to move to urban areas to seek for employment. Secondly, wages in developed cities are often lucrative, which attracts an overwhelming people who hope that they can earn more. Thirdly, infrastructure in major cities is more modern than that in rural areas so individuals who desire higher living standards have a tendency to move there.

This trend can have several detrimental impacts on the locals’ lives. The first effect is that there tends to be more traffic congestion when population density increases as the number of people commuting to work experiences a surge. This would deteriorate the traffic system which has already been overloaded during rush hours. Furthermore, the job market will become more competitive because of the sharp growth in applicants, hindering the natives’ ability to seek employment as well as potentially putting them out of job. The last negative impact is that higher population density often equates less living space and more costly rent. As more and more people move to major cities, the demand for accommodation there will see a considerable rise, resulting in prohibitively expensive housing prices and smaller living area.

In conclusion, people move to urban areas because of greater job opportunities, economic incentives and better living conditions and this trend can have adverse impacts on the locals’ lives such as heavier traffic, highly competitive job market and expensive rent.