In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays many modern people in metropolises chose to lead a solitary life or in a two-generations family rather than in an extended one. In my opinion, this tendency may bring both negative and positive impacts on each individual

On the one hand, there is a variety of positive effects of living alone or in a small group. First and foremost, the one living solitarily tend to become more independent and responsible for themselves. Although they may suffer from various levels of struggle due to the lack of parental support, their practical life skills such as cookery, house-cleaning or laundry will sharpen significantly. In the second place, there is enhanced privacy. It seems to be shreds of evidence that living alone or in a nuclear family helps people to have more time for themselves. By way of illustrations, preparing meals for a large extended family is quite time-consuming when compared to a conjugal one's meal. Last but not least, there is no age gap in these kinds of households. Therefore, it prevents people from falling into unnecessarily domestic conflicts result from generation differences.

Nevertheless, the negative side of living on one's own or in a nuclear family should not be underestimated. First of all, people isolating from family are at risk of numerous psychological illnesses. Homesickness, desolation or even depression, to mention but a few. Furthermore, they may fall into the overusing of mass media or even drugs with the aim of overcoming their traumas. Secondly, several ancestral customs may fade or even disappear completely. Traditional family meals, which has been replacing with preprocessed or junk food, is a good case in point. Finally, children growing up in nuclear families may suffer from needing of affection. It is apparent that their parent always strives for their work and barely look after them. This is shown by countless many juvenile criminals came from an orphanage or a nuclear family

To sum up, living alone or in a nuclear family can have the advantage of self-independence, increased privacy or preventing age-gap problems. However, it also can bring several mental diseases, eliminating cultural customs or spoiling children.