In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, it has become the norm for urban residents to live in isolation or in nuclear families in lieu of extended families. From my perspective, this lifestyle gives rise to several drawbacks.

To begin with, it stands to reason that living alone jeopardizes inhabitants’ mental health. There is no denying the fact that people living in solitary have to shoulder enormous burdens on their own without the support of their families or friends. Hence, they do not have anyone to confide in, to find solace in, to ask for a sympathetic ear or a helping hand while undergoing a time of hardship and turmoil. That is to say, they have to withstand all the hurdles on their own. As a result, sooner or later, people may suffer from depression, mental breakdown or, in a more serious way, they even end up claiming their own lives. Another negative repercussion of living solely is that people’s personal contacts can wane in the long run. Without a doubt, people stand a low chance to interact and to solidify rapports with family members and relatives when living by themselves. This, in turn, makes the relationships with families blurr by time and distance.

Secondly, living in nuclear families rather than extended families may pose a threat to the survival of later generations. Undoubtedly, if people keep living in small-sized families, the idea that there is no need for building a big family will ingrain in their mind. When flying the nest, the offspring can even refuse to get married, which may consequently spells the end of the whole generation.

In conclusion, I firmly hold the belief that living alone or in small families is disadvantageous. Not only does it deteriorate humans’ mental health, but it also does not assure the survival of generations. Therefore, people had better live in extended families.