In many countries the tradition of families having meals together is disappearing. Why is this happen? What will be the effects of it to the family and to the society?

It is commonly believed that families gathering to share a meal is a positive tradition. However, due to the current lifestyle, many relatives are not having meals together anymore. Therefore, the loss of this traditional habit can be detrimental for families and society.

To begin with, in many countries, the inhabitants are always on the run. Meaning that they cannot have the luxury to take the time to eat a proper meal along with their family. Wanting to cope with their careers, fitness and financial status, to name a few, rarely will people prioritize sharing quality time with their parents or siblings. In addition, modern life requires investing some time in social medias. For this reason, people have more interest in using the spare time to connect with others through the internet. As a consequence, in many nations, instead of having a meal with their family, people eat by themselves glued to the computer's screen.

The loss of the custom of a family eating together can jeopardize the upbringing of the offspring. Many children and adolescents have psychological issues grounded on the lack of communication at home. Only by spending time with their parents can the youth have their mental health guaranteed. A recent survey found that eating less than 3 meals a week with their mother and father increase the risk of depression. Secondly, this anti-social behavior of not having meals with the beloved ones can negatively impact on the society. Many people choose to only discuss relevant subject with others that think alike them. This is called tribal psychology. Therefore, people become more intolerant towards different opinions. Hence, taking the time to eat and talk with the family could diminish this echo chamber effect.

To conclude, since people have been lacking on free time and increasing interest in social medias, family meals became scarce. This loss of tradition can be disadvantageous to families and society.