In many countries, the traditional of families having several generations living together is disappearing. What are reasons for this trend, and is it a positive or negative development.

In conjunction with the development of society, people tend to live independently. As a consequence, families with numerous generations living together are no longer typical. In this essay, I will present the reasons, pros and cons of this lifestyle.

Firstly, the younger generation wants independence and privacy. The self-reliant lifestyle is believed to help young people have their own property and control their lives. this way of living will create more motivation for the young population to work; therefore, they will make more property and develop the economy. Hence, the young generation is able to pay for their income taxes and rent. However, the more people choose to live independently, the more pressure there is on finding housing. For instance, the percentage of homeless people in the US increased by 22% in 2022 because too many people moved out of their homes and the states could not solve the problem of a lack of housing.

Secondly, it is about the generation gap. In different periods, generations do not have the same way of thinking; thus, generations find it difficult to understand each other, which leads to unnecessary arguments. they will be more comfortable and have a better quality of life whenever they live on their own. Nevertheless, if the old generation cannot take care of themselves, then when the young generation gets old, they will be put in a similar situation, and the cycle continues.

In conclusion, the traditional way of life where multiple generations live in the same house has both advantages and disadvantages. I believe that everyone can consider and select the path that is best for them. The significant things that create erstanding between each member.