In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their baby. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Today’s businesses around the world offer their female staff a flexible benefit, in the form of paid parental leave which may be up to the first few months after their childbirth. While companies may have to cover extra expenses, they and their female employees are better off with the implement of this policy / the perk offered.

The offer of paid time off up to one month or more to female workers has reciprocal benefits to staff and companies. For one thing, women expecting babies no longer need to choose between their career and having a family. When enjoying paid time off, they can remain employed and have enough money in the bank to keep their household afloat. Hence, they have the flexibility and confidence to balance the needs for growing families without financial concerns. For another, when organizations offer the welfare to new mothers, they also increase the engagement levels of female workers. The life-work balance enabled by paid maternal leave always leads to happier staff, who will be better focused and prepared for work upon their return. Also, this perk companies offer is a big attraction to new employees and helps retain current female workers who have this incentive on their list of job satisfaction.

The potential drawbacks some companies have to face when instituting this policy are that they have to accommodate the cost to paid family leave. With work yet to be completed, the expenses for employee retention on hiring, training temporary staff or replacing them might be non-trivial to these small-sized / small-scale enterprises. Also, some workers without children may see a paid parental leave benefit as something that is being unfairly denied to them.Therefore, to maintain the overall morale in the workplace, some companies may have to institute alternative welfare to non-parental workers so the corporate welfare system is fair as a whole.

In conclusion, it is clear that the successful employee retention a company achieves as well as higher productivity when female workers’ well-being is promised is the reason why the positives of maternal leave exceed the possible negatives. (makes maternal leave more advantageous than disadvantageous.)