People can eat a widely variety of food in other regions.As a result, it makes people eat more other regions food than the local one. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

With economical globalisation and advanced technology in transportation, food grown in other regions of the country or around the world make up a larger percentage of people’s diets than those in the area. In my opinion, although this development could help with lack of food diversity and food shortage, introducing non-local food has greater negative impacts on environment and poses threats onto the local farming.

Firstly, the availability of produce and other products from distant places benefits the local people who suffer from limited food diversity and helps with irresistible food scarcity. The most common limitation in some areas is a lack of fresh produce options during the off-season in the temperate zone. However, the supplement of imported food can allow people living in northern hemisphere to enjoy fresh fruits and vegetables which are grown in warm temperatures. It becomes easier for some locals to have a stable and balanced diet. Such food provision also alleviate suffering from food shortage / reduce shortage level in some areas where land used for agricultural usage is minimal like Greenland or Singapore.

The invasion of foreign food in the local market, however, has detrimental impacts on the local farmers and deteriorate the environmental issues. One major concerns is that our food choices worsen the air pollution and further the footstep of global warming everywhere around the world. The more reliance we have on non-local food, which are basically transported by vehicles, the more harmful air pollution is produced through the regional transports. Meanwhile, these exhausts are one of the attributes to global warming. Another victim under the effect of the change in people’s diet is the local farming. With the reduced craze for the local food, local farmers fail to compete with larger-scale manufacturers. They have no way but face the sobering financial reality, the high cost of producing but lack-luster income. To bear no further loss, many of them step away from the farm. The abandoned farmland turning out to be waste land is the sound evidence to the failure of local farms.

In conclusion, while the introduction of food grown non-locally can address the famine and limited food diversity of some areas, the damage to environment and local agriculture spreads further globally.